Moving Right Along


So today ends my first week of the Biggest Mover Challenge. I am surprised at how much I’ve enjoyed it so far. Despite the cold that keeps trying to drag me down! Irritating viruses!

The first thing I discovered was how surprisingly easy it was for me to get up at 4:30. I may have mentioned before that I’m not a morning person! It’s a little strange to shower and get ready for work at the gym each day, but getting moving earlier hasn’t been as rough as I thought it would be.

I think it’s a sort of classic life lesson for people to learn that they are stronger than they think they are. I have been able to push myself harder than I thought. I know that this isn’t the worst that our trainer Elizabeth has in store for us, but it gives me some belief that I will be able to keep pushing myself as the weeks go by.

The other challenge I am facing is that of food. I find it interesting that you can presume you are eating healthy until you really start looking at labels and serving sizes. Especially serving sizes. Our homework has been to keep a food diary. At Elizabeth’s recommendation I am using Livestrong.com‘s MyPlate food diary. Conveniently there is an app that works with my iPod, too! It has made me stop and look at what I’m eating, particularly how much.

It’s easy to pour a big bowl of healthy cereal without realizing that you may be eating 2 or 3 servings. I picked up a little microwaveable bowl of soup, thinking it was a single serving and when I looked at the label, it was almost 2 servings. When you’re counting calories, that makes a difference! So, this week has been a practice in serving sizes. I’ve gone so far as to use a measuring cup or measuring spoon to see what I am eating versus what I should technically be eating.

The other thing I have actually been practicing for a bit longer than just this last week, is more conscious eating. It’s too easy when you’re busy or rushed for time to eat quickly and eat everything that is in front of you whether you need it or not. I suggest you give it a try. Pour yourself a measured amount of food, eat it more slowly and enjoy the flavor. You’ll likely find yourself satisfied with the smaller amount of food.

So I venture into week two and hope to keep up my motivation and inspiration. I pass a little bit along to anyone else who wants it!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. AnnaLise/Cherie
    Feb 21, 2011 @ 09:10:30

    Serving size is key. Too many people think the serving size listed on a package isn’t really a serving, because “it’s not enough.” I did Weight Watchers years ago, and how to judge the true portion sizes is the most important thing I learned. Not only use the measuring cups, etc., but get a food scale — I still get mine out once in a while to double-check, especially meat portion size!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

