Christian Ideology According to Pope Francis


I confess that, for a long time now, I have felt reluctance and even downright refusal to call myself a Christian. I have experienced some of the more unfriendly aspects of Christianity. Back in the early 90s I participated in psychic fairs that were picketed by Christians, and was frequently told that due to my beliefs and practices, I must be a satanist or other such garbage.

Thank God that attitude seems to have softened a bit over the years, yet I have also seen people who profess to be Christians treat others, myself included, very badly, and not with anything resembling what I have learned of the teachings of Jesus. I find this new examination of the Christian faith by Pope Francis to be quite hopeful.

Pope Francis describes ‘ideological Christians’ as a ‘serious illness’ within the Church (via Raw Story )

Speaking at daily Mass last Thursday, Pope Francis warned Christians against turning their faith into a rigid ideology. “The faith passes, so to speak, through a distiller and becomes ideology,” he said, according to Radio Vatican. “And ideology…

Leave a Reply

